Tencent is offering 10 Terabytes of Storage to Users

Jesus.

Tencent, the parent company to Weibo (China’s largest chat app),  is offering 10 terabytes of storage to their users. That sounds incredible! Amazing! Wondrous!

But I can’t even picture how much 10 terabytes really is…

So of course, I Googled and found some handy pictorial on Neatorama from like, 2008. They charted how much 12 terabytes is worth, which is close enough… I guess.

Behold. This, is 12 terabytes:

It’s nice to visualize, but it’s still hard to really picture (or maybe I’m just stupid?) and upon even further Googling, I came across more examples.

10 terabytes = 1,000 copies of the Encyclopedia Britannica. 300 hours of good quality video. All of the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress = ‘155.3 million items on approximately 838 miles of bookshelves. 35 million books and other print materials, 3.4 million recordings, 13.6 millioni photographs, 5.4 million maps, 6.5 million pieces of sheet music and 68 million manuscripts.

Um. What? 838 miles, is approximately the distance from NYC to Disney World. A little more than San Francisco to Vancouver — CANADA. From Mongolia to Kazakhstan (Borat) and it’s like climbing The Great Smokey Mountains. Either which way, that is a lot of frickin’ stuff on a lot of frickin’ mileage. It’s still a bit unclear to me how much 10 terabytes really is and how it makes my life easier.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t LOTS OF STORAGE! a bit backwards…? I mean… in the age of streaming, why would I even want to store all that data? Googling is so much faster and easier. I can find movies and songs, TV shows, reference books, dictionaries, thesauruses… what would I even do with all that storage space?

Maybe my digital habits are bit different because I long ago stopped being an Internet pack rat — I’m all about constantly organizing and discarding.

I’d rather have less storage room with more bandwidth to upload. The CAPd data message: “File upload failed, file too large.” always bums me out.

Any which way, looking forward to seeing how Tencent does.

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

2 comments

  1. karl

    ah interesting. Different take on different issues

    Storage is a possibility of duplication. There are many ways of discarding: destroy (which you seem to be doing) and forgetting (which I’m doing). Both of them have their own set of issues. What I mean by forgetting is a possibility to keep assets around and find them again later. We could draw a metaphor with the attics and what we share with our friends, family, our own children and archeologists. By streaming all the same source, we enter into the area of single point of failure. One recent example of that is the novel 1984 which was removed from the kindle of people by unilateral decision of Amazon. Good choice of novel for doing that. :)

    Then there is an additional issue on the Tencent 10 Tb. It’s cool that they are proposing this offering. Specifically for heavy users of images/videos. But there is the notion of privacy, data encryption and legislation where the data are kept. To note that it would be interesting to compare the law of say Iceland, USA, and China about data warehouses. 500 Gb for a laptop is barely enough for my own use, but keeping the data elsewhere without a real control on how it is hosted also an issue. Duplication (aka backup) is a good thing too for avoiding to loose some images we have taken a while ago when the local drive is crashing.

    About organizing. I mostly don’t organize. Or basically I put everything in a dated space aka /2014/01/22/file_example.jpg for today. The rest is the job of the laptop search engines to help me find again my stuff. As you said…

    « Googling is so much faster and easier. »
    s/Googling/ddging/… wait no, not even (ddg == duckduckgo)
    s/ddging/Searching/… ah better.

    And finally about « more bandwidth to upload »
    Yes but even more than that. I want my connection to be symmetrical. As much download bandwidth than upload bandwidth. That seems strange, but to give the possibility for people not only to own their assets, but also to own their services. A very important thing in terms of culture that the Web allowed us is to be able to let anyone point to something. People with a bit more of knowledge and services (like wordpress you are using) can publish, but they do not really own that service and then their ability to develop in a more decentralized way. This is essential in our human relationships. To understand and having the possibility to choose our dependencies. So symmetrical bandwidth.

Leave a Reply

