What is this, a cult???

So about a month ago, I started actively participating in a Social Networking Site called FriendFeed, and one month later I was re-reminded of the power of the internet. For those unfamiliar with FriendFeed, Louis Gray has concise, easy to read write ups detailing FriendFeed (or FF) and how to get the most out of the site. His posts are definitely recommended, I don’t think I can explain FF better than him.

Now that the formalities are out of the way, Friend Feed in my own words.

Short version: I thought it was a cult.
Long version: Ok, cult may be taking it a little too far.
Everyone is friendly, intelligent, and I engage in tons of good conversation there. The one thing I really like about FriendFeed is there are no user profiles. Just names, and imported feeds of users’ personal sites, blogs, micro-blogging sites (Twitter, tumblr, Pownce, BrightKite, indenti.ca, Plurk), links to their social networking sites. So unless the you (the user) chooses to look, you basically have no clue who you’re interacting with. It’s WYSIWIG in true fashion – since what you see on their feeds and comments, is basically what you get.

So here I am, little Miss Nobody with about five friends, posting links, bantering with everyone and anyone. Literally socializing like crazy, since I like people. And if you’re nice to me, I’ll be nice to you back. Say something funny and I’ll respond. I could care less where you live, what you look like, what you do, or who you know. I mean it’s the internet. Who cares! Funny thing is, I’m like that in real life too : )

At any rate, the more immersed (or addicted) I got to FF, the more my circle expanded.. and well the more it expanded, the more I was exposed to. I slowly started seeing things like “A-list”, and “elite”, or the same individuals referenced over and over. The one person who stood out was Robert Scoble.. and after Googling well… I posted a blurb on FF and well.. found out more than I wanted to know. Take a look:


Uploaded with plasq‘s Skitch!!

After Robert, I started Googling other active people, and little did I know, a majority of the people actively participating in FF are… the elites of the tech world. Individuals that can be um, Googled. Some even have their own Wikipedia pages. WOW WTF?

Fast forward one month of FF life, I’m on some big deal website with these folks, my subscriptions went from like 5 to hundreds, and people who subscribe to me are like.. in the hundreds… I’m quite honored.

Come today marks my one month-ish anniversary I believe, and there is still so much more I want to say. So much more I want to share, so I created this blog as kind of like an extension of my Friend Feed. The end… for now

17 thoughts on “What is this, a cult???

  1. Hi Mona,

    You are quite a sensation on FriendFeed! I enjoy your posts and am super happy you joined! I had quite a chuckle with your “is this a cult?” question the day it came out on FF…that was awesome! Ok, now you know it is NOT a cult, just a very cool social media app that is easy to get hooked on fast!

    Enjoy!

    Susan Beebe
    @smbeebe

  2. @Svetlana: I quite possibly may be the only person on FF who doesn’t have a personal blog LOL. Thanks for stopping by : )

    @Susan: thank you so much for your kind words and the feeling is absolutely mutual. I adore you and when you stop by FF, it completely brightens up my day : ) And indeed, FF is NOT a cult but one of the most amazing SNS sites I’ve ever had the chance to come across : )

    @Mike Dunn: Thank you and thanks for the comment! : )

  3. good karma, fast mind, big heart, cool name, maybe a girl/woman, dunno, probably .. lot’s of lol’s … life on earth, 2008, wide open

Leave a Reply

