Hey, Cuil. Got glasses?

So FriendFeed, has been buzzing about Cuil, a new search engine founded by two ex-Google employees, and some random guy. Cuil claims to have more than 120 billion pages in the index. Apparently, that’s “three times as many as Google and ten times as many as Microsoft.”

Wow. That’s a pretty bold statement.

I had no interest in Cuil, yet – since the site’s still brand new, but after reading the above? Curiosity got the best of me. I reach the site, and put it through my extreeeeemely reliable QA (quality assurance) test.

I punch in my search:
Cuil
The results:

=O Blasphemy!
Kevin Bacon, the actor, has nothing to do with ilovebacon dot com, a site dedicated to bacon, the food. WHY is his picture next to the top result?

FAIL

Thank goodness I can tell Bacon (the actor) apart from bacon (the food). I would’ve been screwed if I were doing research on the Tuamotu archipelago, or needed to know what the IUPAC nomenclature was, or had to find a PLU number, STAT -since I don’t know anything about the above. And isn’t that why I would be um, searching? On an uhhhh… search engine?? To find answers on topics I know nothing about???

Until Cuil can accurately differentiate the actor from a piece of meat, I am staying FAR away. Why it’s getting all this attention is beyond me.

Have you tried it? What do you think? Did you run into any bizarre search results? Share!

7 thoughts on “Hey, Cuil. Got glasses?

  1. The reactions are different around the blogosphere. Some users like the way it sorts things out while some hate Cuil’s ranking algorithm. I personally think that it ranks some terms way better then Google does but some terms are ranked like it’s been sorted randomly -.-

  2. The placement of pictures next to search results would have been a nice design feature if the pictures had a direct relation the result they are placed next to. Unfortunately, that is not the case.

  3. That’s exactly what I have a problem with, the UI.

    Because images are displayed with the search results, I immediately correlated the image of Kevin Bacon, with the first result, ilovebacon.com. Perhaps Cuil’s intent was to say: Here’re the top two results, Keven Bacon (the actor), here’s his image, and here’s the top site, ilovebacon.com. But my initial reaction was associating the two, and wrote Cuil off as unreliable. Whatever the intent, if the end user has to think about that, then it’s not a user friendly site. Which is too bad, since as Toni Anici says, the algorithm displays different -good or bad, results than Google.

    With that said, Cuil is like another Knol for me: useless (for now)

    Thanks for stopping by, guys!

    @Shey: EF YA to simple testing methods, I’m with you alllll the way dude!

  4. If you can’t even get a hit on your own name…what’s the point?

    And yes, those images were mighty confusing until I decided that Cuil was Muet.

Leave a Reply

