I’ve Been Louis Grey’d. Confused? Read On.

PixelBits (this blog) was mentioned by one of the most amazing folks on FriendFeed, Louis Gray. Louis – or LG as I call him without his permission – does so much for the FriendFeed Community.

  1. keeps us updated with the latest Social Networking News.
  2. actively participates and engages with everyone on his blog and FriendFeed.
  3. is gracious and humble.
  4. AND makes time to be a family man.

AMAZING.

Needless to say, I am completely floored and honored to be included in his piece. So, thank you – from the bottom of my… hmmm… pixels? Okay, that was bad. But I cannot rave enough about Louis and, of course, FriendFeed.

One of the main reasons I cannot stop talking about FriendFeed is the community. And the community, made up of people of various backgrounds, lifestyles, and from different parts of the world, is one of the reasons I firmly believe certain individuals deemed “A-listers” actively engages with other FriendFeeders. I’ve never experienced a social networking site where almost everyone is nothing short of wonderful, intelligent, warm, engaging, and informative.

However, as more people sign up and start participating, it’s baffling and disheartening to see unprovoked confrontational (or outright rude) comments directed at or to, these ‘web-lebrities’ on FriendFeed. IMHO, they have huge followings for good reason.

There are a few in particular, that lead by example of WHY they are ‘A-listers’, ‘elite’, or what have you. Think I’m ass-kissing? Well, see for yourselves. In no particular order, these are some of the ‘A-listers’ I subscribe to and why I do:


Thomas Hawk:

  1. helped out Yuvi, the FriendFeed-coding genius (who is saving up for a laptop for college).
  2. graciously gives photography tips and tutorials .
  3. makes time to interact with the community outside of his blog and FriendFeed.


Duncan Riley:

  1. keeps it real.
  2. actively shares the love!
  3. has a great sense of humor and shows he’s… well… human?


Chris Pirillo:

  1. addresses every day issues – tech or not.
  2. enlightens us with his iPhone / Apple issues.
  3. definitely not afraid to speak his mind.


Dave Winer:

  1. has a great sense of humor, even participates in baconfests, and shows us he is good enough to engage with… the little people?
  2. keeps us updated with political tidbits, not just tech.
  3. partakes in discussions.

Robert Scoble:

Robert is great. And his feed speaks for itself. Where else do you see even @replies getting responses? Definitely not a Technical Evangelist, for nothing.

If you’re not already subscribed to them, I highly recommend doing so. Not because they’re ‘A-listers’, but because they actually… care. So, thank you all for everything that you do. :) I highly respect and commend each and every one of you!

Do you follow any of them? Why or why not? Do you have memorable interactions / blog posts written by them? Am I missing anyone? If so, who? And why do you recommend them? Share!

10 thoughts on “I’ve Been Louis Grey’d. Confused? Read On.

  1. Mona,

    Great heart felt post and I couldn’t agree with you more. I personally haven’t interacted much with Dave Winer or Chris Pirillo (or not as much as the others), but the your mentions are amazing noble guys in the community and follow them all.

    Congrats on being Louis Grayed!

  2. Excellent. I follow these same people, because they pop up everywhere, they give interesting, thoughtful, out-of-the-square, commentary. They follow back and they are willing to interact. Thankyou Pixelbits, Thomas, Duncan, Chris, Dave and Robert.

  3. Joni: I agree re: Mitchell Tsai.. actually, almost everyone I’m subscribed to, enriches my FriendFeed experience… Oh man, now that I think about it, I feel bad for leaving people out..

    Jeremiah: Thank you for your kind words :)

    Chris: Amazing, aren’t they? :) Thank you for the comment.

  4. Nice Article On Social Networking ! Thank you for keeping up the good work. I look forward to returning to your Social Network space, and learning more about Business Social Networking from you !

Leave a Reply

