My Baloney has a First Name: DO NOT EAT

So we are discussing best sandwiches on FriendFeed and Twitter. I suddenly remembered baloney. Since I hadn’t thought about baloney in YEARS, it was like I discovered it for the first time — again.

Conclusion: American bologna is just plain wrong.
ESPECIALLY Oscar Mayer’s version
Check this out:

(image borrowed from oscar mayer’s site)

Look at the very first ingredient!!
Mechanically separated chicken and pork

WTF?

Now I am no tree hugging-KFC-boycotting-throwing crap at celebrities animal activist but “mechanically separated” animal parts made my imagination kick off.

The only thing i could picture was this:

and chickens and pigs are run through some contraption like this:

Well have no fear, my fellow animal lovers!
Turns out it’s WORSE.

Assistance from my best friend Google enabled identifying this mysterious substance!

IT’S A FRICKIN PASTE!

Now i’m insanely curious as to how it’s made.
Oscar Mayer should YouTube the making of this said ‘paste’.
Maybe I should prompt them with a letter. Who’s with me?

NOTE: I DO NOT ADVOCATE VIOLENCE OR TORTURE IN ANY SHAPE OR FORM. THE FARM ANIMALS USED FOR EDIBLE PURPOSES ARE CALLED “STOCK” MEANING THEY ARE SPECIFICALLY BORN AND BRED FOR ONE PURPOSE ONLY. TO BE EATEN. I AM ALSO NOT A FARMER AND DO NOT PRACTICE THE METHODS ABOVE. SO PLEASE REFRAIN FROM REPORTING ME TO PETA.

AND TO THE FOLKS WHO HAVE ANY ISSUES WITH WILD ANIMALS DYING (EVEN IN THEIR NATURAL HABITATS) DO NOT SEND COMPLAINT LETTERS. PLEASE WATCH “THE LION KING”. IT DEMONSTRATES THE CIRCLE OF LIFE IN ANIMATED FORM.

Thank you and have a nice day.

15 thoughts on “My Baloney has a First Name: DO NOT EAT

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever had Bologna that wasn’t from Oscar Meyer. It’s been a few years since I’ve had a bologna sandwich. I got out of eating it regularly after no longer having a girlfriend with a 7-year-old living with me. :)

  2. Growing up, balogna sandwiches were like the 7th food group. I still remember the bologna and mustard sandwiches given to me during lunchtime in 3rd grade. It wasn’t until I discovered sandwich meat came in more flavors, than just round and pink, that I gave it up.

  3. even though everyone already knew bologna was basically grounded up animal parts its still pretty damn delicious when fried and with melted cheese on top

  4. Ever tried SPAM :-)).

    Mechanically separated is using a machine to strip off the remaining meat from the bones after other parts are taken – i.e. the breasts. In the old days it was boiled off – now it is “mechanically separated”.

    Cheers. Oh and in response to hot dogs! Do you know what goes in that? Mechanically separated chicken. heh.

  5. For holidays and, consisting of vegetables?Common with a, true psychologically According.MYOB Accounting suits, material railings available.Second of his eat, famous album cover that time either.Medical bills in, your dog properly.,

Leave a Reply

