Damn Straight Michael Jackson’s Passing is Personal.

Twitter _ Mona Nomura_ The first cassette tape gi ...

…but beyond the memories of my mom, to me, Michael Jackson has always been more than the King of Pop.

You see, my growth chart is synonymous with his discography.
A huge piece of me is all things MJ.

So his songs have always meant more than the magic formula for instant success.
MJ’s creativity, showmanship, plus talents, more than pure entertainment and his accomplishments, far beyond just a mark in history.

His existence was…and is still a part of me; his death highly personal.

I do not expect anyone to comprehend or even begin to understand how or what I feel. Nor am I asking you to feel the same way I do towards Michael Jackson.

But I am asking all of you to please respect my wishes of keeping jokes, judgments, and negative comments about MJ far away from me for a very long time.

To insult him, is like insulting me.

If you think I am overreacting, remember, that as much as you think you may know me, you do not. Like I said, MJ is highly personal and the whys are for me to know and for you to find out if I choose to share. :)

Thank you in advance for your respect.
Taken from my Facebook notes.
I also wrote about my mom’s death here, if you are interested.

11 thoughts on “Damn Straight Michael Jackson’s Passing is Personal.

    1. Graham, I completely understand and RIGHT with you. It was such a shame to see him crucified by the media and watch him retreat into himself… :(

      1. Completely agreed. I was extremely annoyed when all the MJ-bashers suddenly decided to put on a veil of mourning. Talk about taking things for granted. Effing posers. (Missed ya on the #goap trip!) Great blog, btw.

      2. Hey Jenny! Funny how the first time we interacted is on my blog I hardly update LOL…I’m sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet you, too! Hopefully, we’ll see each other in Hawaii…? ;) It’s great to connect and ya, those EFin posers need to GO AWAY!!

        Thanks for your comment and for connecting! :)

  1. I was SHOCKED when I heard about Michael Jackson death yesterday! I believe he was a kind and gentle man who was miss represented and was taken advantage off because of his fame and fortune. I do believe his father is to blame. Do to his greed for cash, he pushed his kids especially Michael to perform. He defiantly missed his childhood! I hope where ever he is, he is the child he always wanted to be! RIP my friend!

  2. I hear a lot of his the kids that said he did things to them are saying he didn’t now. He was so talented, and misunderstood. His oddities make sence given how poorly poeple treated him, yet he performed on and just wanted to make others smile. I hate media. He was and will forever be one of the best performers ever.

  3. I hear a lot of the kids that said he did things to them are saying he didn’t now. He was so talented, and misunderstood. His oddities make sence given how poorly poeple treated him, yet he performed on and just wanted to make others smile. I hate media. He was and will forever be one of the best performers ever.

  4. I was impressed with Michael Jackson memorial yesterday! He seemed like a loving man who really cared about others. He will be missed by millions of fans but his legacy will live forever.

  5. Mona, I was never much for the pop scene and kind of prided myself on my sophisticated tastes in music. They did not include MJ, for the most part – though a bunch of us in a seminar had a line dance to “Beat It.” That was the exception.

    Then in 2007 I became friends with Harry Webber, an adman who got his start in Motown.

    In November I started taking my father to temple on Saturdays. My mother had died, and he’d been in a car crash, so he wasn’t driving anymore. And there’s a part of the service where we each stand for the people we’re mourning (for the first year): My mother. Her brother, who’d died in April. And Michael.

    Wait. Michael?

    Of course Michael. For Harry. http://madisonavenew.com/mad252.html

Leave a Reply

