What Does “omnivorous Google” Mean?

My head hurts.

A few weeks back, Marissa Mayer talked about how she believes a more intuitive (personalized) search is the future, and calls this future search engine,  ‘omnivorous.’ I do not know how or why Google chose the word omnivorous, but the first thing that popped in my head was a T-rex – yes, the very extinct dinosaur – crawling around the Internet, devouring everything it (Google) loves.  And no, I am not still drunk from New Year’s.

It’s just that my Internet education started out backwards, and industry specific terms combined with my imagination ends with border line craziness like a T-rex devouring our websites. Hey, I would be lying if I said I am not confused. I am still trying to figure out this SEO…thing. It’s been quite a challenge – to say the least – learning how the Internet actually…works.

Anyway, the reason I wrote my background in this realm, is to let it be known I am still learning. I will continue to learn about search marketing practices, so if anything I say offends or is outright wrong, please refrain from bashing (too much) but instead, share your thoughts. Teach me. I still have a lot to learn, and I am ok with that.

That said, the past few weeks real-time search indexing has been on my mind. I just cannot understand how Google plans to give love to <140 bits scattered around the web whilst omitting the spam. I read SEOmoz’s: “8 Predictions of 2010“, Michael Gray’s: “Is Google Playing Monkey Games with Real Time  Search” and Outspoken Media’s “Is Google Moving In The Wrong Direction?” but I’m still confused as to what this omnivorous search engine really is. How and what we should know about this new real-time indexing algo. And most of all, my concern of  proliferation of garbage on the Internet.

Anyone care to take a shot in explaining what this omnivorous Google actually is? How and what I should know? Where do you think Google will go with this omnivorous algo? Does the real-time box in the Google search results have a separate algorithm of its own? Will this affect mobile sites, too? So many questions.

Any thoughts and insight will be greatly appreciated.

ps: Separately, I’m still deciphering who to trust and determining my SEO authorities.Perhaps my ignorance is my advantage, for I know nothing of the search marketing world; from the politics, popularity contests, to anything else in between. My mission has been to quietly learn SEO, so I’ve been furiously scouring the Internet to suck in as much knowledge as I can.

As of this moment, here are my top five: Search Engine LandSEOmoz, GreyWolf, Matt Cutts, and Outspoken Media. The latter site is solely for personal reasons. The writer, Lisa Barone, has this amazing writing style I instantly became a fan of.

7 thoughts on “What Does “omnivorous Google” Mean?

  1. “Anyone care to take a shot in explaining what this omnivorous Google actually is? How and what I should know? Where do you think Google will go with this omnivorous algo? Does the real-time box in the Google search results have a separate algorithm of its own? Will this affect mobile sites, too? So many questions.”

    I don’t think even Google knows. I’m pretty familiar with what one *can* do with *reasonable* compute resources. It’s pretty limited, actually – today’s Twitter search is an example of the sort of thing you can implement fairly easily.

    But Google has *unreasonable* compute resources at its disposal. They have the compute power and the disk space to implement some stunning analytics on the Twitter “firehose” stream. And they have the mathematicians and engineers that can build it. So does Microsoft, for that matter, and IBM, and Oracle. That’s what I think they want us to think they’re doing – making Twitter as easy to search as the rest of the web.

    It should be noted that Twitter is opening up the “firehose” to anyone who can use it. They haven’t disclosed what the terms of use or costs are going to be, but what they have said is:

    “As I stated in the session at LeWeb we are committed to providing a framework for any company big or small, rich or poor to do a
    deal with us to get access to the Firehose in the same way we did deals with Google and Microsoft. We want everyone to have the opportunity — terms will vary based on a number of variables but we want a two-person startup in a garage to have the same opportunity to build great things with the full feed that someone with a billion dollar market cap does. There are still a lot of details to be fleshed out and communicated, but this a top priority for us
    and we look forward to what types of companies and products get built on top of this unique and rich stream. ”

    So – if you could see, in near real time, *every* public tweet, what would *you* want to be able to do with that? If you had the disk space to record *every* public tweet *forever*, what would you search for?

    1. Ed, that’s a pretty interesting perspective; I never thought of it that way. Only because I am so immersed in tech, I see the real-time results of whatever is published. i.e. Tweets, news articles, blog posts, etc. Perhaps it’s because my world is so much more than just Twitter — hopefully others see it that way too.

      Speaking of Twitter’s API…I am more interested in seeing them penetrate the B2B world and the analytics they plan to integrate.

      3rd party API services are kinda last year for me.
      Thanks for your comment!

  2. Everything I’ve seen indicates that Twitter believes that an “open ecosystem of thousands of developers” will accomplish things they can’t on their own. At some point, they are going to need to “manage” that ecosystem, or run the risk of having their brand destroyed. But that’s a lot easier than developing analytics, and their platform challenges are more than enough to keep them busy technically. ;-)

    So I believe that the analytics will come from outside Twitter. And I guess I don’t think Twitter has much to offer in B2B sales until it’s integrated fully into “Digital body language” platforms like Eloqua. You have to have “permission” from someone who tweets in order to enter him or her into your marketing funnel.

    At the moment, Twitter can only send people to a web site for that to happen. Once they’re in the system, email is probably a better way to continue the conversation than either public tweets or DMs.

Leave a Reply

