2010: Be Social in Social Media or BUST

When I think of social media, megaphoning immediately pops into my head so that photo to the left, depicts exactly how I imagine social media to be.

Well, I am pleasantly surprised at how 2010 is starting out.

For example, the other day I came across a post from one of my favorite people in the whole entire world, Micah Baldwin, about how 2010 is the year of people. Micah is someone who gets along with anyone and everyone, so from the title of the post, I had no clue what he actually meant.

After reading his post, I understood — he’s interested in making meaningful connections with smaller numbers of folks, instead of spending five minutes with the bajillions of persons who tries to talk to him at conferences and such. I absolutely concur. Besides, aren’t quick convos what Twitter is for?

Anyway.

Yesterday, Micah made an announcement that his company Graphic.ly, will be given to the community. Why is this so great? Well, Graphic.ly, a site and service around comic books, was recently funded. The site is going to launch next week. What makes this giving to the community announcement so great is because of this.

From the post:

“We are launching a bare bones version of the application. Much of it will work, but there will be lots of broken parts. The store will suck. The selection of comic books will be bleak.

I know this.

But, if we are truly going to get the community involved, we need them involved early and often. We need them now.”

He then talks about collaboration / feedback tools to get as much input from the community to mature the site. Wow! My background is in development. I’ve been a part of a product cycle from start to finish, so it floors me how Graphic.ly chose to empower their hearts and souls, their baby, their site, to the community. But more so, Micah is practicing what most people only preach about: listening, conversing, and the art of transparency.

Amazing. The movers and shakers in our industry, like Micah, keep setting the bar higher for those participating in social media, to actually be… social.

So I decided to jump on the bandwagon and officially declare 2010 to be the year of the people. Regardless of who you are, where you live, what you do, or where you come from, my hope is that you will be inspired by Micah as much as I am to show people – hey, I care about what you have to say.

2010 is the year of people.

So even if we don’t have a site or service like Micah, we can do our parts in showing people we care. So blog about it, Tweet about it, it doesn’t matter how you do it, the important thing is we are talking with people. Hopefully, companies, brands, and even the prolific social media enthusiasts would follow our leads and start talking with us, instead of talking at us.

After all, isn’t that what social really means?

8 thoughts on “2010: Be Social in Social Media or BUST

  1. Can this be the year also that every company involved in using social media just gets it. I mean, these principles you discuss in the posts have been mentioned time and time again but not once have I seen a company take them on board. It’s quite astounding!

    Have to agree, if I see my favorite brands becoming more social in 2010 I will personally write a thank you blog post to Micah and others who helped push forward the “social” part of social media!

    1. Hey Josh – businesses and companies, even sites and services with traditional marketers and old media types do not understand what two way (or engaging) content is. They come into our space with the billboard mentality and push their content onto us (the public), with the “we know best” mentality. I don’t blame them since social media is still silod in unknown territory and brands come into the space driven by metrics, conversion. Mainly I believe it is because most companies don’t know what to do in this medium.

      Anyway, hope this year is well for you and please do blog about it — unless we speak up, brands will still carry on thinking they know best. ;) Thanks for your comment!

  2. Mona,

    Thank you and Micah for speaking up for PEOPLE. At times, it baffles me why some businesses talk about social and completely disregard the people part. I mean, with whom do these companies think they’re “socializing” anyway?

    I face that challenge daily. The recurring question is: how will that translate to sales? Not gonna lie; it gets frustrating. When will companies truly understand “social?” What will be that light bulb moment for them? I’m not sure, but I can’t wait for it to happen.

    Some people just naturally get it. Like you and Micah. Watching you work gives me hope. Thank you!

    1. Wow Veronica! I think this is the first time you’ve visited my blog and I’m pretty honored! I love the thoughtful, insightful, and intelligent comments I’ve seen on other people’s blogs :)

      As for your question, I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately – how to articulate social media, translating conversation into something that can actually be measured. There is a post I’ve been working on for the past few weeks because I just can’t find the right words haha.

      At any rate, thanks so much for your kind words and I absolutely agree with all that you said!! And thank you, for being so on top of sharing and noticing everyone who engages with you; especially me. You’re pretty awesome, too. ;)

Leave a Reply

