MySpace on Facebook: The Beginning of Something Wonderful

As excited I was to learn the MySpace Facebook fan page was going to be handed to me, I was a little scared. Terrified, even, and I am not going to lie: there are still days when I share content on that page and prepare myself for the worst. Even on Facebook, MySpace is home to the 13-17 and 18-24 demographic and when I think back to those years I too, was probably a jerk for no reason 98% of the time.

However, I am pleasantly surprised.

Some stats and observations from Facebook’s fan page:


On growth:



– Two noteworthy spikes: one, when Sean took over the page. Second, when I did.
– November 09-January, there was a 16% growth
– February 10-March 10, there was a 33% growth rate
Sean set the tone of the page by posting one or two pieces of content a day. He would post internal content such as MySpace exclusive theatrical trailers, song / album premiers and randomly toss in a meme item. When I took over the page, I doubled the amount of content posted and spread the times of sharing throughout the day. Usually the first post goes up around 10am, a few mid-day with the last post around 11pm (at the latest.) By increasing the content, our fan page growth effortlessly doubled without dependencies on Facebook ads or cross platform promotions i.e. inviting our friends or announcing our page on Twitter and Facebook. It’s fascinating to watch the fan member count increase, real-time, immediately following a new post as members like or comment and our presence gets pushed into the members’ news feeds. Facebook’s power to organically grow community is impressive… to say the least.


On content:


VS



Content, has been trial and error. Granted, the community is still premature. We are still in the process of garnering their trust and setting the tone (which I will explain at a latter time) but even after two months of daily interactions, I do not see any sort of pattern. I would assume an exclusive clip of a movie trailer would gain more traction than a random photo, but that has not been the case.

Take for example a stupid photo vs an exclusive movie trailer. If someone asked me to explain why the photo of a camel tattooed on a toe with the caption: Camel Toe got 180+ likes and 45 comments, while an (exclusive) clip of Clash of the Titans, posted at a prime engagement time only got 16 likes and 6 comments? I do not have an answer. That is only one example, since the most engaged content pieces are the random facts I post in the status message once a day. The most popular to date is the Anatidaephobia is the fear that somewhere in the world there is a duck watching you which got 20 times more likes, 26 times more comments than the Muse’s live performance footage from Southby Southwest and 80% more visible engagement (likes and comments combined) than a Justin Bieber live chat post. And just when I think MySpace content is ill received (we deleted an interview with our co-presidents since the reaction were so vile — name calling, insulting and personal attacks) I plugged an official MySpace profile http://myspace.com/whatsnew and the reaction was good; enthusiastic, even.

Of course there are many factors: time of day, number of active community members logged in at the time, etc., etc. but the community reaction is baffling. It just goes to show one can never predict reactions and sentiments. Which is the perfect segway to…

The analytics:
Facebook offers analytics per post as well. Impressions, they are called, which is the raw number of times the content is viewed on fans’ newsfeeds. Take the “Camel Toe” vs “Clash of the Titans” exclusive movie trailer example I used above. Camel Toe got 64,286 Impressions with 0.36% Feedback and 180+ likes. Clash of the Titans, posted at a prime engagement time only got 44,883 impressions 0.04% Feedback with only 16 likes. Why the Camel Toe post with more than 10x the likes of the Clash of the Titans post has less than double the impressions is still a mystery. The data is helpful, but leaves a lot of unanswered questions. How would we know if someone re-shares it into their feed without tagging? Are off-platform shares counted in impressions? What does impressions exactly determine? Since there is no official Facebook analytics handbook, I am assuming the algo counts the number of times the content is shown through one’s feed by either: a) organic post b) a like c) a comment or d) one or all of the above.

I’ve been attempting to secure a meeting with someone — anyone — from Facebook who can clarify the numbers but so far, no luck. So until Facebook’s methodology is explained, my hypothesis is that Facebook is unpredictable. Instead of concentrating on finding a method to this randomness (madness?) that is the Facebook MySpace fan page, my goals are 1.) to make MySpace relevant with the folks interacting with us on Facebook 2.) reinvigorating the brand while 3.) creating a community that will eventually curate itself.

With the backing of our extremely progressive leadership (Jason Kirk: VP of Marketing and Sean) who gives me the freedom to trust my instincts, it’s slowly but surely getting there. Take a look:

MySpace’s Facebook fan page is definitely the beginning of something wonderful. :)

35 thoughts on “MySpace on Facebook: The Beginning of Something Wonderful

  1. In reference to the idea that a random photo gets more “likes” than a movie trailer, I would put out there that from 13-24 “we” all want to be considered “unique,” and that, ironically, we do that the most by conforming to those around us and doing our best to push back against those older than us.

    Therefore, anecdotally at least, it would seem to make sense that people like the hipster, wacky content more than the mass media “you’re supposed to like this” content.

    These demos are also saturated by Clash Of the Titans (e.g.), and may even be talking about it at school, but don’t feel the need to “like” it, and therefore draw attention to it. “Liking” a camel toe photo on the other hand posts the comment in their news feed and draws other friends to see it as well.

    At the same time, I think alternating your content between “unusual” things and “mainstream” keeps the “unusual” things feeling unique and fresh…

    1. Hi TJ, thanks for the insight and thoughtful comment. As much as I hate admitting it, there are times I second guess the content choices. I feel as if I should stick solely to our roots (entertainment and or music.)

      Fortunately, the reactions have been mainly positive and complaints about content are rare but I can’t help but to wonder if I am doing the ‘right’ thing.

      Either which way, the growth has been astounding and the MySpace fan page has been more than a fun social experiment ;) I’m excited to see it keep growing.

      Thanks again for your comment and don’t forget to friend me on MySpace: http://myspace.com/mona :)

  2. Pingback: will age of mythology the titans work online?
  3. Pingback: From Concepts to Code
  4. Great post Mona, and would love to keep this discussion going. Always appreciate the hard numbers with a post like this.

    FB Fan pages definitely exhibit super quantum weirdness.

    While I think the camel toe is way funnier and more engaging the the $XYZ million dollar movie as well, I can’t tell you why (yet).

    Our experience with http://facebook.com/WTFhawaii is similar. The posts and videos we spend hours crafting are liked by few and shared by less. But we run a photo caption contest with a spanking for a prize http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=4737312&id=199401486825 and get gagillions of interactions.

    Our early lessons learned so far:
    – Experiment with all types of media, contests, writing styles on your FB page. You really can’t predict what will work.

    – Explicitly ask for engagement. ‘Do you think the Clash of the Titan’s new movie will live up to the original classic? Tell us why in the comments”

    – Don’t be corporate/fake with FB. People come to FB for authentic interactions with friends, and now Brands as well. We can all smell a marketing plan a mile away and just ignore it. More so on FB, because its a platform based on authentic interactions.

    A good example of all 3 of these put together is a picture the Vin Diesel posted on his FB page. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=4763410&id=89562268312

    He says
    “Wow, next month will be a year since we started this page… good times… I have grown through your wisdom and kindness. It has often felt like talking to a group of close friends, with the added bonus of knowing that there is always someone here that understands me, regardless of how cryptic I can be at times… and for someone keen on privacy like myself a very unique and therapeutic experience…

    P.s. Really enjoy reading these comments… great ideas- food for thought…”

    This pic and caption got 20,000 likes and 7,000 comments because its authentic and he asks for engagement (and apparently the ladies dig his sweet abs).

    ________

    Also, now that FB is so important to brands, I agree that we need a beefed-up analytics tool. This should be a no-brainer for the FB product dev team.

    My projects now get more engagement and page views on FB then on the “real websites”.

    My thoughts for analytics hacks are: http://insanemission.com/2009/12/facebook-fan-page-need-better-analytics/

    1. Adam – wow! Thanks so much for this. Just wanted to acknowledge and let you know I’ll be back in a bit to respond. Only courteous to respond with the same thought and care!!

    2. Ok. Wow, thanks for all the examples and I think we are in agreement content is unpredictable. As much as I would like to ask specific questions, MySpace is not a celeb page like Vin Diesel or Ashton Kutcher and the demo of this particular page is…well…a tad scary (to say the least.) I am terrified of opening the door to any flame wars or personal attacks. My main focus is setting the tone to let community members know vile and uncivilized behavior is not accepted — period — while upping the cool factor, per se, of MySpace again :)

      I’m going to check out your post right now, but I found a way to stick Google Analytics on our fan page ;)

  5. Hehh, I wonder how many unsubscribed fans that graph would show… you lost about 5% as soon as you start posting regular content.

    You don’t get as much interactions with your videos because it takes too long — time investment. Look at the toe, laugh, like, move on. I made an awesome video for a page the other day, and where I would normally get 50 likes and 20 comments, I only got twelve VIEWS of the video (youtube).

    Another thing I wish they’d tell us is how many fans have us on “hide”.

  6. but because she remained true to herself and her beliefs, she’ll grow in a very real, very amazing way. The information will never be enough to handle the unexpected issues. You should make greater effort to be able to handle that.

  7. I just really like what we should post here. Extremely new not to mention wise. A single problem though. I’m running Opera with the help of Debian not to mention components with the existing layout products would be a bit wonky. I just know it’s not really normal developed. Yet it’s something towards keep in mind. I just hope that going barefoot will guidance not to mention continue to keep up the top notch good penning.

Leave a Reply

