#NOH8


Those who follow Christine (@ChristineLu) Viv (@vivowang) and I across our respective social networks, probably got inundated by photos today. I’m sorry -well not really- but too bad. If it takes something gimicky as three Asian chicks to raise awareness, then so be it.


It’s 2010. Fighting for equality should not be. Our predecessors have fought that battle. Aren’t there issues other than equality we should all be fighting for?

I can’t believe people are still afraid of things they do not understand. So if it takes link baiting with photos to spread awareness, again, so be it. My hope, is that one more person participates, uploads their photos, shares with their social graphs to help the cause.

Change isn’t going to happen overnight, but it’s these little victories that add up to eventually, change. Or in this case, acceptance.

These are the times I appreciate the power of social media and inspired by those using these tools to fight good fights. To learn more about the NOH8 campaign, click this: THIS.

For those interested, there’s more after the jump (photos and text.)
Christine shared her (very personal) thoughts here: HERE.

As many of you know, I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area.

The Bay Area is a very special place. Granted, it’s not perfect, but it is perhaps one of the most open minded areas in the U.S. As an Asian, I can walk into any establishment, talk to anyone without fear of being judged. A while back, I wrote about my experiences in the East Coast and how I was treated differently just by the way I looked. Today, I felt the same sort of judgment. The same icky feeling of people making assumptions by the way I looked, except in a way I’ve never felt before.

Christine, Viv and I participated in the NOH8 (No Hate Campaign) open photoshoot and had NOH8 temporary tattoos stamped on our faces. After the shoot, they took theirs off in the car. I kept mine on. Christine went her separate way. Viv and I ended up at The Bev Center and walked around the packed mall. Her with no tattoo and me with the NOH8 still stamped on my face. I felt uncomfortable at the people staring at Viv and me. I assumed it was because of the huge lettering on my left cheek, but when I started getting inquiries like: (and I quote) “Are you a dyke?” or “Are you a lesbo? That’s kinda hot.” /end quote via Twitter, I started questioning the motives of why people were staring at me.

Now those questions could have stemmed from this photo Christine and I Tweeted out:

But either which way, why should it matter if we were gay?

Blows my mind how people in this day and age still care about things such as sexual orientation, race and or gender. So like I said on my NOH8 album: I really feel like keeping this tattoo on my face, just to see people judging me.

To learn more about the NOH8 campaign, click this: THIS.

Christine also shared her (very personal) story here: HERE.

4 comments

  1. @clementyeung

    It’s sad. At the end of the day, there’s a lot of people who are still confused about what life is all about, finding things to distract them from solving their own issues.

    Way to go for speaking out!

    • Mona Nomura

      Hey Clement!

      Actually, it’s baffling (and sad) that I have to speak out – equality and basic human rights must be a given, not a cause, in this day and age… :(

  2. T1theinfamous

    1. Keep the tattoo and see how many idiots you’ll run into.

    2. I still have yet to figure out why anyone cares what someone else’s sexual preference is.

    3. Its awfully hard to hate someone that could quite possibly be a family member which means people need to stop being so ignorant and start learning and understanding things that may be a little different from what they’re used to.

Leave a Reply

