I Got a Kindle and I’m Eating My Words. Crap.

(image via Instagram)

Back in 2008 I told myself I wouldn’t invest in an eReader.
Fast forward three years and I am eating my words.

But I can’t help it. The Kindle was a gift.

…ok. Fine. That’s a lie.

I invested in a Nook during the summer and kept mum about my purchase because I have been so vocal about anti-eReaders for so long. But I hadn’t picked up a book in three-four years. My face is always in my iPhone, browsing the Internet, while people in the city would whip out their Kindles or Nooks, even if it was reading one or two pages. I would observe, feel a pang of jealousy and put my face back in my phone.

I tried carrying a book around but it just didn’t work. It wasn’t happening. I knew it was time to give into the eReader world.

So I researched. Read reviews. Compared book catalogs and chose the Nook over the Kindle, for one reason: aesthetics. The book selections between Barnes and Amazon were pretty much the same. The Nook was more elegant – smaller and sleeker – at that time. After only a day of ownership, I was sold. That ugly green-ish tint and all. (There’s a reason it’s that faded spinach green btw. It is really easy on the eyes.) And I must admit, I’ve read more books since August than in the past three years.

I was happy.

Then, the new generation of Kindles came out and the new Kindles looked fantastic. I’ve been pretty much obsessed with owning one since.

This year, Santa came early and someone I adore bought me a Kindle (thank you, btw!) I unwrapped the Kindle and holy smokes, what a difference. The overall quality is just, well, better compared to the Nook. From the look, feel to even the response time, the Kindle blows the Nook out of the water. The standard case with the built in light also trumps any of cases and/or lights available for the Nook.

As for the model, I chose the Touch. Only because color hurts my eyes.
I am in love with the Kindle and for those of you still on the fence: DO IT.
Convert. It will change. your. life.

And if you’ve told people you would never move over to the dark side, don’t worry. I won’t tell anyone. Plus, Kindles are small enough no one would notice you’re carrying one ;)

[EDIT]
There are helpful discussions happening on my Facebook here and Google+ here.
If you need reading recommendations, there are heaps of them here and here.

Thanks to all of my friends, acquaintances and even strangers chiming in. I love the Internet!

17 thoughts on “I Got a Kindle and I’m Eating My Words. Crap.

  1. I was in the same boat as you. I kept trying to convince myself that I didn’t need a Kindle, although I really wanted one. Well thanks to an Amazon gift certificate I got for signing up for an Audible gold account, I was able to get a Kindle Touch for free. It hasn’t arrived yet, but I’m super stoked…I can’t wait to give it a go!

    BTW, I have a feeling that I will be reading a lot more books as well. The only thing that worries me is the one-click purchase option…they’ve made it waaaay to easy for me to spend my money on books. ;D

    1. I’m super excited for you! eReaders got me reading again and I am so glad you gave in. (It’s also a huge relief to know I am not alone lol)

      And yes on the latter – I purposely unlinked my Amazon one-click to avoid that exact hazard.

      Thanks for the comment Charlie and happy holidays!

  2. Thanks for this. I , like you, have been resisting the move and I too have fallen off the book reading totem with a resounding thud. Only that the thud is cushioned by an expensive habit of continuing purchases of books that lie in unread heaps around me. Maybe, just maybe I shall give myself that well deserved Christmas prezzie. Any comparison sites you would care to share to make the journey quicker and easier ?

  3. I’ve been sold on the Kindle for a while but I just haven’t had the extra income to justify going out and buying one. In fact I really want the new Kindle Fire. Maybe I’ll get one a couple of months from now when some substantial money comes my way.

    Off topic but…..Mona+glasses = yes!

  4. I had the same feeling about eReaders but I also went for a Kindle and I bought a Kindle Fire, I am back to reading like never before.

Leave a Reply

